The 4 Ashrams of yogic life

In this long journey of human being from cradle to the grave, man try to spend his life in different way in different duration of life. Those who follow a yogic life, there are four Ashrams which is reported in the ancient Indian literature such as Bhagavad Gita. According to this sacred source, life of a spiritual aspirator can be subdivided into four fractions, each fraction with duration of about 22 to 25 years. A person after his birth must walk in this path in order to achieve enlightenment, a divine state of self-realization. Full spiritual development of an individual is only possible by obeying this yogic rule of 4 Ashrams of yoga.
1. Brahmacharya( yogic learner):
In this initial quarter of life, a yogi spends his life as an obedient student under the guidance of spiritual teacher. He/ She focus his mind in learning spiritual wisdom, practicing different yoga training with proper care. Deep discipline and control of unnecessary emotions are very necessary in this stage. A yogi gets knowledge about this world, soul, supernatural soul and the intricate relationship between them. He not only finds out the reality of life but also makes him habituated to survive in this cosmic world without any mental attachment.
2. Grihaste( family life):
This is the second ashram of yogic life, living with family, fulfilling family needs and responsibilities such as care of parents, marriage, conjugal life, giving birth to babies, thinking about their future and behaving accordingly, as well as improving social relationships and social contributions, all these duties that an individual obeys belongs to Grihaste Ashram. Utilizing the wisdom and discipline learned during Brahmacharya life, he or she lives family life in the midst of several cosmic disasters and distractions. This Ashram will be successful when the yogi do not get influenced but influence this world by his beautiful deeds.
3. Vanaprasta(Hermit life):
Vanaprasta life is in loneliness, away from the care of family, far from the touch of society in complete silence. Yogi withdraws his connection with this world to begin hermitage life. This is done for the transition from family plus society with love to the stage of emancipation/ renunciation. A quiet place is sought and the yogi lives a lonely life, he cuts attachments with his family and relative and lives as a non-attached spiritual counselor.
4. Sanyas( renunciation life):
Sanyas is the last ashram in which yogi frees himself from all sorts of worldly pursuits and jumps towards the achievement of self-realization, which eventually leads to Enlightenment. Sanyasi lives in temple or forest or in shrine place, survive in charity and continuously search spiritual perfection until death.
  These four Ashrams of  yogic life are greatly changed due to the modern influence in yoga. If you could not spend your life in this manner, then do not worry. If there is positive feelings and honesty in your heart, your life will be automatically transformed into yogic life.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Give your love- Give a comment.

Search This Blog